There Are Side Effects to Attending a TED Event

This past weekend, I attended TEDxRainier 2011 , which was a very full day of inspiring, enlightening, thought-provoking, and humbling talks by speakers from various fields. I cannot speak highly enough about the experience. The interdisciplinary examination of ideas and the unifying themes that were explored brought back fond memories of my favorite course at Boston University: the two-year undergraduate Core Curriculum course. This was my first live TED experience and hopefully the first of many.

Today, I received a letter via e-mail from the curator of the event, Phil Klein. This general letter, sent to all attendees, thanks the attendee and provides links to videos and feedback forms for the event. However, it also goes on to say the following:

“Some people report that the few days after TEDxRainier can seem a little difficult or dull in comparison to the vivid intensity of the prior day. That is common, so don’t worry too much about it. It may help to take some time to relax and reflect, or to engage and connect with others on a project or adventure that inspires you.”

This oddly touching acknowledgment of a phenomenon that I did, in fact, experience sounded like something…well, something a doctor might say. Perhaps a new diagnosis is in order here: the post-TED-return-to-regular-life syndrome….

Except, I suspect that you do not go back whence you first started once you’ve attended a TED or TEDx event.

share this via:
Facebook
Twitter
More...

About Linda Pourmassina, MD

Internal Medicine physician.
This entry was posted in General Musings, Not Medical...Or Is It?, On the Lighter Side and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There Are Side Effects to Attending a TED Event

  1. jaykimball says:

    Hi Linda,

    I too was at TEDxRainier this year, and was filled to the brim. My wife sat next to me and sketched a word cloud of the ideas and stories that flowed from each speaker. I posted the sketches here: http://8020vision.com/2011/11/13/tedxrainier-2011-conference/

    I hope you enjoy it.

    Jay Kimball
    8020 Vision

  2. A couple of years ago I put attending TED on my life bucket list. Until I saw your tweet I had no idea there was a TED related event in the local area. Maybe I’ll be able to catch the next one.

Leave a Reply

